Soundtrack Information

Beyond the Poseidon Adventure

Beyond the Poseidon Adventure

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 245)

Release Date: May 27, 2013

Conducted by Jerry Fielding

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Main Title 4:10
2. Helicopter 1:34
3. We've Got Company 0:47
4. They Go Aboard 7:10
5. Survivors 0:51
6. Move It Out Sarge 1:32
7. The Money 1:06
8. Tex 0:47
9. They're With Me / Susan At The File 1:44
10. The Susan And Stefan Show 2:58
11. Wilbur's Secret Ailment 2:41
12. Harold And Hannah 2:38
13. In The Tunnel - Revised 1:26
14. Susan Is Dead 0:35
15. Sprague Pumps 1:42
16. He Builds A Bridge / Blindman's Bluff 6:02
17. Conversations While Waiting 3:40
18. Gun Fight 2:36
19. Frank Buys The Farm 1:31
20. Hannah Kroax 4:27
21. Svevo Gets Out - Revised 1:47
22. Wilbur Gets A Pang 1:16
23. Great Escape 10:16
24. End Credits - Original 3:05
25. EXTRAS: End Credits - Revised [Film Version] 3:05
26. Main Title [Promo Reel] 1:32
27. The Money [Promo Reel] 1:06
28. In The Tunnel - Original 1:24
29. Svevo Gets Out - Original 1:47
30. End Credits - Original [Promo Reel] 3:04
  Total Album Time: 78:19

From the Manufacturer

For the 1979 sequel Beyond the Poseidon Adventure, composer Jerry Fielding wrote a fiery, boldly dramatic work in his usual distinctive style. He was a master technician as well as someone skilled at enhancing onscreen emotion, and he demonstrated great imagination and skill in reinforcing the suspense, pyrotechnics and action on display in the film. Strings, woodwinds (in fluttering, sinuous gestures) and muted brass create an uneasy, claustrophobic atmosphere, suggesting the surging ocean outside. Featuring gun battles and chases between, Fielding also provided a bright, highly energetic scherzo.

Interestingly, the most impressive sequence of the score was never used. Fielding begins his unused "End Credits" solely on bassoon and left hand piano. Fielding then builds the idea into a massive piece, developing the bass line in spectacular manner through the entire orchestra, replete with upper-brass fanfares and dynamic percussion. The cue culminates in a blazing finish that gives all the brass a moment to shine, then delivers one final stroke of genius with the entire orchestra suddenly dropping out, save a battery of fortissimo snare drums.

To present this premiere release of the complete score, Warner Bros. provided Intrada with the entire recording session masters captured by engineer Dan Wallin on both 2″ 16-track tape as well as 1/2″ three-channel tape.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!