Soundtrack Information



Limited Edition of 2,000 Copies

Intrada (Special Collection Volume 135)

Release Date: December 13, 2010

Conducted by Basil Poledouris

Performed by
London Symphony Orchestra

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Main Title 02:38
2. Siege Of The City 03:28
3. The Noose 00:36
4. A Rotten Trick 01:21
5. Saint Martin 02:55
6. Lesson In Nature 01:11
7. Agnes And Kathleen 00:51
8. Courtship And Mandrake 04:09
9. Wagon Attack 02:41
10. The Rape 02:43
11. Martin's Withdrawal/The Pointer/The Castle 05:13
12. Castle Invasion 02:07
13. Feast For Martin 03:22
14. Martin & Agnes Love Theme 01:27
15. Rescue Me 00:54
16. Night Fires 02:25
17. The Box 05:30
18. The Burning Wheel 01:02
19. The Plague Dog 05:10
20. Water (The Undoing) 01:44
21. Prepare For Battle 03:13
22. Arnolfini Assault 05:53
23. Denouement/End Title 07:55
24. The Box [With Percussion Overlay] 05:31
  Total Album Time: 73:59

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Finally! World premiere release of complete Basil Poledouris masterpiece from 2" 24-track session masters, courtesy of MGM. (All previous releases used 1/4" elements of varying quality.) Poledouris creates epic score for Paul Verhoeven tale of 16th century warfare, starring Rutger Hauer, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Tom Burlinson. One of his own personal favorites, Poledouris always wanted to re-mix "mid-range heavy masters" (his words), elaborating that trombones, tuba, certain solo woodwind colors were somewhat buried in original 1985 mix. With discovery of complete 2" 24-track session masters, complete remix was now possible! Adding to good vibes, Intrada had access to all original engineering paperwork, including hand-written notes by composer and engineer Eric Tomlinson as to take preferences, particular edits, audio decisions. This allowed us to present complete score in sequence for first time with best-ever clarity in audio! At last, hear pounding tuba pedal tones that double with bass drum during main title plus crisp trombone work during battle music, much more! Dynamic "The Box" for stirring battle scene is powerful highlight. Film itself includes short tenor drum cadences during cue to mirror shots of young boy sounding battle drums as alarm to galvanize defending forces from formidable approaching army. Since these percussion segments were recorded by Poledouris for synchronizing to action, they were happily present on session masters as well. As such, Intrada premieres final film version plus includes familiar original version so listeners can choose their favorite. Complete "Plague Dog" sequence another dramatic highlight! Basil Poledouris conducts London Symphony Orchestra. Intrada Special Collection release limited to 2000 copies!

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!