Soundtrack Information

Hangover Square / 5 Fingers

Hangover Square / 5 Fingers

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies
Kritzerland (KR 20030-1)

Release Date: September 25, 2015

Conducted by Bernard Herrmann

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

External Links

Track Listing

1. HANGOVER SQUARE: Main Title / Fulham Waltz and The Dealer*
2. Murder and Fire
3. Confession*
4. The Clock and The Knife*
5. Barbara*
6. So Close to Paradise (Lionel Newman)*
7. The Spell
8. The Murder
9. Fame and Anger*
10. Second Spell*
11. The Cat and Netta's Death*
12. The Bonfire
13. Recovery and The Invitation*
14. Concerto Macabre: First Movement
15. Concerto Macabre: Second Movement
16. Coda
17. Concerto Macabre: The Lost Movement
18. 5 FINGERS: Prelude
19. Cicero
20. The Embassy
21. The Film
22. The Old Street
23. German Embassy / Berlin
24. The Safe
25. Dreams
26. Five Weeks
27. The Trap / The House
28. Romance
29. Departure
30. Alone
31. The Charwoman
32. Escape
33. The Pursuit
34. The Boat
35. Rio
36. Finale
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Previously Unreleased

For Hangover Square, Bernard Herrmann's task was to compose George Henry Bone's piano concerto. The resulting "Concerto Macabre" is a tour de force—the concerto had to accomplish many things, including beginning and ending with just piano, but it also had to portray the mind of its on-screen composer and his descent into madness. But the concerto is but one piece of Herrmann's musical tapestry in Hangover Square, and the rest of the score is as evocative and brilliant as the concerto.

5 Fingers was a 1952 spy picture directed by Joseph L. Mankiewicz. Herrmann was once again the perfect choice for the film. His score conveys every bit of suspense and emotion, from the dramatic main title, to the jittery music for "Cicero," to the brief-but-beautiful cue "Romance," to the exciting music for "Escape." Much of the score almost seems like a preview of what Herrmann would go on to compose for his legendary series of films with director Alfred Hitchcock. It's a world-class score by a world-class composer.

Both 5 Fingers and Hangover Square were released in the Bernard Herrmann at Fox box set on Varese Sarabande. For that release, Hangover Square was a much-truncated presentation. But thanks to advances in technology and a couple of new sources we present it here with over sixteen additional minutes of music, and what music it is. While the source material for 5 Fingers was in excellent condition, the sources used for Hangover Square were not in as prime condition. Everything possible has been done to clean them up, but the music is so important we wanted to include every note we could. For this CD, Mike Matessino has gone back to the 5 Fingers elements and done a fresh new transfer, which sounds absolutely stunning, and he's done the same forHangover Square.

Limited to 1000 copies.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!

Related Soundtracks

The Snows Of Kilimanjaro / 5 Fingers

The Snows Of Kilimanjaro / 5 Fingers
Marco Polo 8.225168

Released: 2001

Bernard Herrmann at 20th Century Fox>

Bernard Herrmann at 20th Century Fox
Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies
Varese Sarabande Club VCL 1211 1128 / VCL-1128

Released: December 27, 2011