Soundtrack Information

Pipe Dream - New Cast Recording

Pipe Dream - New Cast Recording


Release Date: September 18, 2012

Formats: CD, Digital

Music From

Track Listing

1. Overture 4:03
2. All Kinds of People 3:12
3. The Tide Pool 2:32
4. Everybody's Got a Home But Me 4:40
5. A Lopsided Bus 5:22
6. Bums' Opera 2:08
7. Fauna's Song 3:03
8. The Man I Used to Be 4:25
9. Sweet Thursday 3:47
10. Suzy Is a Good Thing 5:40
11. All at Once You Love Her 4:13
12. Entr'acte 2:49
13. The Happiest House on the Block 3:36
14. The Party That We're Gonna Have Tomorrow Night 4:05
15. Fractured Fugue 2:12
16. Will You Marry Me? 1:45
17. Thinkin' 4:12
18. Reprise: All at Once You Love Her 2:47
19. How Long? 5:21
20. The Next Time It Happens 3:28
21. Finale: Sweet Thursday 1:13
22. Bows 0:50
  Total Album Time: 75:23

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Outcasts yearning for a better life populate the bordellos and flophouses of a 1950s California seaside town in Rodgers and Hammerstein's Pipe Dream, based on the novels Cannery Row and Sweet Thursday by John Steinbeck. At the heart of the story is the unlikely romance between Doc, a marine biologist, and Suzy, a vagrant who has recently taken up residence at a local brothel.

This 1955 Broadway musical rarity had not been seen or heard in a full orchestral production in New York City until it was brought back to life by New York City Center's Encores! series in March 2012.

Bringing the score gloriously to life, as captured on the Live album, is the Encores! cast which includes Will Chase as Doc (All Kinds of People, All at Once You Love Her, The Man I Used to Be), Laura Osnes as Suzy (Everybody's Got a Home But Me, The Next Time It Happens), Leslie Uggams as Fauna (Sweet Thursday), Tom Wopat as Mac (A Lopsided Bus, The Party We're Going To Have Tomorrow Night) and Stephen Wallem as Hazel (Thinkin').

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!