Soundtrack Information

Star Trek: First Contact - Complete Motion Picture Score

Star Trek: First Contact - Complete Motion Picture Score

Limited Edition of 10,000 Units

GNP Crescendo (GNPD 8079)

Release Date: April 3, 2012

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Format: CD

Track Listing

1. Main Title/Locutus 4:16
2. How Many Ships 0:28
3. Battle Watch 1:10
4. Red Alert 2:13
5. Temporal Wake 2:07
6. Shields Down 1:45
7. The Phoenix 1:00
8. They're Here 0:25
9. 39.1 Degrees Celsius 4:45
10. Search for the Borg 1:50
11. Retreat 3:59
12. No Success 1:31
13. Borg Montage 1:02
14. Welcome Aboard 2:40
15. Stimulation 1:04
16. Smorgasborg 1:28
17. Getting Ready 1:33
18. Fully Functional 3:19
19. The Dish 7:06
20. Objection Noted 1:54
21. Not Again 2:41
22. Evacuate 2:20
23. New Orders/All the Time 3:49
24. Flight of the Phoenix 6:20
25. First Contact 6:00
26. End Credits 5:26
27. BONUS TRACKS: The Phoenix [alternate] 1:07
28. Borg Montage [alternate] 1:17
29. Main Title [alternate] 2:54
  Total Album Time: 77:29

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

GNP Crescendo Records, longtime home of new and classic Star Trek soundtracks, releases a long-sought limited-edition collector's CD of Star Trek: First Contact (1996) featuring the complete score by Jerry Goldsmith (with additional music by Joel Goldsmith), newly remastered by recording engineer Bruce Botnick.

Star Trek: First Contact (1996) was the most popular feature film starring the crew of Star Trek: The Next Generation. When the Borg travel through time into Earth's past, Picard and his crew must prevent them from altering a pivotal moment in human history—mankind's "first contact" with an alien race (the peaceful Vulcans).

First Contact marked the much-anticipated return of beloved composer Jerry Goldsmith to the franchise. Goldsmith's march from Star Trek: The Motion Picture (reused as the main title theme for The Next Generation) is instantly identifiable, and Goldsmith's extraordinary gift for melody, thrilling orchestration and musical storytelling has made him the signature composer for Gene Roddenberry's vision.

For First Contact, schedule constraints led Goldsmith to recruit another composer to write additional music—his son Joel. The resulting score by both men combines exciting themes from Goldsmith's previous efforts with vital new material, including a "first contact" theme (nobly sounded by French horn) and an ominous motive for the Borg.

GNP Crescendo released the original soundtrack album to Star Trek: First Contact in 1996, featuring 45 minutes of score highlights. Since then, fans have clamored for both Goldsmiths' complete work—particularly the thrilling "Flight of the Phoenix." This expanded release (nearly 80 minutes) presents exactly that—including three alternate tracks—in sterling sound quality, mastered by Jerry Goldsmith's longtime recording engineer, Bruce Botnick.

The accompanying 16-page booklet includes informative notes by Jeff Bond and John Takis and is lavishly illustrated with film stills. Star Trek: First Contact—Complete Motion Picture Score (GNPD 8079) is available solely as a physical CD from GNP Crescendo Records.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!