Soundtrack Information

The Aviator

The Aviator

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 324)

Release Date: June 22, 2015

Conducted by Dominic Frontiere

Format: CD

Music From

Track Listing

1. The Crash/Main Title 4:16
2. Tillie's Theme 2:02
3. The Hangar 1:57
4. Have A Good Flight 0:26
5. Here We Go 3:55
6. Sit With You 2:29
7. The Crash No. 2 3:35
8. The Forest 4:35
9. Real Prize 1:12
10. Saw The Fire 3:42
11. Air Terminal 1:56
12. The Rabbit Hunt 1:19
13. The Wolf Pack (Complete Mix) 1:07
14. Stitch In Time 1:16
15. Something To Eat 0:51
16. Search Is On 1:21
17. Take What You Need (Complete Mix) 1:55
18. Tillie Falls 1:57
19. Kid I'm Sorry/All Addicts (Revised) 2:43
20. Go To Sleep 1:02
21. That's Capital Peak 1:21
22. Our Luck Is Changing 1:44
23. Have To Pee 2:08
24. I Belong To Some Place 1:07
25. Locked Pistol 1:10
26. Pole Wires/Old Man (Complete Mix) 5:00
27. The Cabin 1:46
28. End Titles - Long Version 3:22
29. EXTRAS: Coffee Donut 2:42
30. Poor Butterfly (Raymond Hubbell-John Golden) 1:13
31. All Addicts 2:09
32. All Addicts (Alternate) 1:18
33. Old Man (Vibes) 0:18
34. Old Man - Part 2 Short Version (Complete Mix) 2:57
35. End Titles - Short Version 2:28
  Total Album Time: 74:19

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

In 1985, composer Dominic Frontiere composed a large, soaring symphonic score for MGM's The Aviator. In a year filled with symphonic splendor, it was easy for the magnificent score to The Aviator to get lost. Frontiere's score is designed around two major themes: one for Edgar (played by Christopher Reeve) and and one for Tillie (Rosana Arquette). Edgar's theme is all about flight—its beauty and nobility. It's an aptly old-fashioned, symphonic tune played with unabashed sentiment by the Munich Symphony Orchestra. It's a movie theme that harkens back to the "Golden Age" of cinema, with its liquid slurs and high, expressive string phrasing. Tillie's theme is similarly old-fashioned, endowing the young flapper with a sense of innocent romance and fragile beauty.

This release of The Aviator features a number of important distinctions from all previous releases of the music. It was originally available on vinyl and later on a slightly expanded CD. Both of these prior versions not only omitted a significant number of cues from the score but, interestingly, did not include the separately recorded percussion tracks for several sequences. This fully restored release features every track Frontiere recorded during his Munich scoring sessions—including the separate percussion overlays which are mixed as the composer intended. Including several alternates in "the extras" section of the disc plus the composer's source cues, this new Intrada CD presents 75 minutes of music in all.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!