Soundtrack Information

The Eiger Sanction - Expanded

The Eiger Sanction - Expanded

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 465)

Release Date: August 10, 2021

Conducted by John Williams

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Film Score Recording
1. Main Title (From The Motion Picture The Eiger Sanction) 3:23
2. The Microfilm Killing (Film Version) 1:47
3. To The Dragon 1:30
4. Felicity 3:03
5. Up The Drainpipe (Film Version) 3:38
6. Love Scene 4:05
7. Art Masterpieces 1:38
8. Hemlock And Jemima 3:18
9. The Unlocked Safe 2:17
10. Friends And Enemies (Film Version) 3:23
11. Montage Running With George 4:48
12. The Top Of The World (Film Version) 3:37
13. George Reveals Herself 1:17
14. The Car Chase (Fifty Miles Of Desert) 3:21
15. Hemlock's Bonus 2:10
16. The Eiger (Film Version) 1:53
17. Hotel Bellevue 3:00
18. Anna On The Stairs 1:44
19. Leading The Climb 2:46
20. The First Sunset 1:37
21. Sunrise 0:44
22. Falling And Swinging 4:42
23. The Icy Ascent (Film Version) 4:13
24. Down The Ice Face 2:15
25. Freytag Onto Ice 2:24
26. Hanging By A Thread 3:47
27. End Title (From The Motion Picture The Eiger Sanction) 2:16
  Disc Time: 74:36
Disc 2: Remastered Original Soundtrack Recording
1. The Eiger Sanction (Main Title) 2:46
2. Theme From The Eiger Sanction (Flugelhorn Version) 2:57
3. Fifty Miles Of Desert 2:54
4. The Icy Ascent 3:44
5. Friends And Enemies 3:03
6. The Top Of The World 3:09
7. Theme From The Eiger Sanction 2:12
8. Training With George 2:15
9. Theme From The Eiger Sanction (Hemlock And Jemima) 2:10
10. George Sets The Pace 2:42
11. The Microfilm Killing 2:08
12. Up The Drainpipe 3:21
13. The Eiger 2:17
14. SOURCE MUSIC: Dinner With Gem 2:05
15. Never Quaver 2:26
16. Leave Me Alone 3:05
17. THE EXTRAS: Theme From The Eiger Sanction (Love Scene) 2:20
18. Hemlock Leads The Climb 3:08
19. Theme From The Eiger Sanction (Reprise) 3:10
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Intrada's latest release features a 2-CD set of John Williams' music for the 1975 Universal Pictures thriller The Eiger Sanction.The score is a masterful example of the composer's 1970s style, encompassing orchestral and jazz elements, tonal and atonal moments, and memorable themes. From the foreboding theme of the main title to the thrilling action of "The Car Chase" and the majestic "The Top Of The World," the score is a showcase of a composer who was rapidly rising to the top of the industry's game.

The first disc features his complete 75-minute score, offering substantially more music than was represented on the MCA LP, a re-recording that also included tracks often substantially reworked by Williams. While the original scoring sessions were in three-track split-mono, ace producer Mike Matessino has mixed the tracks into a satisfying stereo experience, similar to his prior work on Williams' Earthquake. For the MCA album, Universal Music Group unearthed the original 2″ unmixed multitrack tapes, not only allowing for a state of the art new mix to showcase more detail than ever heard before, but also revealing several additional tracks WIlliams recorded for the album but which were not ultimately included on the LP release.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!