Soundtrack Information

The Great Train Robbery - Complete

The Great Train Robbery - Complete

Intrada (Intrada MAF 7115)

Release Date: November 29, 2011

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Complete Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
1. The Gold (Previously Unreleased) 0:11
2. Main Title 2:43
3. Is He Dead? (Previously Unreleased) 0:51
4. Breakfast In Bed (Record Version) 1:49
5. Breakfast In Bed #1 (Previously Unreleased) 1:44
6. Breakfast In Bed #2 (Previously Unreleased) 1:46
7. No Respectable Gentleman 2:25
8. A Relentless Suitor (Previously Unreleased) 1:16
9. Clues 3:54
10. Rotten Row 2:43
11. The First Key 0:08
12. Bordello Raid 0:46
13. Kiddie Caper 2:03
14. Casing The Station 1:33
15. Street Attack (Record Version) 1:41
16. Street Attack (Film Version) (Previously Unreleased) 1:40
17. Over The Wall 1:59
18. Night Entry 2:29
19. Night Exit (Previously Unreleased) 1:00
20. Double Wax Job 2:57
21. The Tombstone 1:13
22. We Go To Paris (Previously Unreleased) 1:12
23. Dead Willie (Previously Unreleased) 1:58
24. Open Castket (Previously Unreleased) 0:23
25. The Padlock (Previously Unreleased) 0:41
26. All Aboard (Previously Unreleased) 0:35
27. Departure 0:42
28. The Gold Arrives 2:44
29. Torn Coat 1:52
30. End Title 2:58
31. EXTRAS: The Gold Arrives [Alternate] (Previously Unreleased) 2:43
32. EXTRAS: Sonata In D For Two Pianofortes K448 (Previously Unreleased) (Mozart) 6:02
33. EXTRAS: Source Medley (Previously Unreleased) 5:06
34. EXTRAS: Music For The Royal Fireworks (Handel) (Previously Unreleased) 3:03
  Disc Time: 66:50
Disc 2: Original 1979 United Artists Soundtrack Album
1. Main Title 2:33
2. No Respectable Gentleman 2:23
3. Double Wax Job 2:46
4. Casing The Station 3:09
5. The Gold Arrives... 2:43
6. Kiddie Caper 2:02
7. Clues 3:52
8. Rotten Row 2:40
9. Torn Coat 2:23
10. End Title 2:58
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

World premiere release of complete soundtrack by Jerry Goldsmith for Michael Crichton period action tale of gold robbery performed aboard moving train, starring Sean Connery, Donald Sutherland, Lesley-Anne Down.

Though rumored to have been lost forever, Intrada located complete 1/4" two-track stereo session masters made by Eric Tomlinson during London recording sessions, maintained in beautiful condition, courtesy of MGM. This enables first-ever release of numerous cues including all-important action cue "Dead Willy," where frenzied string rhythms, powerful trombone figures provide score with its most ferocious moment. Other new cues offer variants to main theme, additional darker sequences.

Goldsmith also recorded all of his classical source pieces during the sessions and we include those as well. His take on Handel's famed "Music For the Royal Fireworks" is dazzling indeed. Several alternates were present on masters, including early take on classic "The Gold Arrives" set piece, this time with central section spotlighting virtuoso trumpet double-tongue passage. Goldsmith ultimately toned down for final take.

The bonus CD offers U.S. CD premiere of original 1979 soundtrack assembly as produced by Jerry Goldsmith, newly mastered from United Artists album master. Informative notes from Jeff Bond, handsome original campaign art complete exciting package. Jerry Goldsmith conducts the National Symphony Orchestra.

This nicely-priced 2-CD set is part of Intrada MAF catalog of great film scores.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!