Soundtrack Information

The Outsiders: The 30th Anniversary Collector's Edition

The Outsiders: The 30th Anniversary Collector's Edition

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies

Music Box Records (MBR-024)

Release Date: February 28, 2013

Conducted by Carmine Coppola

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Stay Gold (performed by Stevie Wonder)* 3:29
2. Fate Theme 2:30
3. Country Suite** 4:57
4. Cherry Says Goodbye** 2:21
5. Incidental Music 1 2:45
6. Fight in the Park 3:25
7. Bob is Dead 3:32
8. Deserted Church Suite** 4:14
9. Sunrise** 2:56
10. Fire at the Church 2:49
11. Incidental Music 2* 3:11
12. Rumble Variation / Dallas' Death** 4:54
13. Brothers Together* 2:27
14. Rumble** 4:37
15. Stay Gold (Alternate) (performed by Stevie Wonder )* 2:30
16. The Outside In (performed by Bill Hughes) 2:41
17. Stay Gold (performed by Bill Hughes ) 2:28
  Total Album Time: 55:46

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Previously unreleased.
** Contains previously unreleased music.

Music Box Records and American Zoetrope present the remastered and expanded release of acclaimed composer Carmine Coppola's full-scale orchestral score to the 1983 drama film classic The Outsiders.

For those with a passion for old school scoring, this remastered 30th anniversary edition of Carmine Coppola's score for The Outsiders now sings with new orchestral power. Francis Ford Coppola wanted the score to have a similarly epic scope, music that would recall the unabashed orchestral passion that Max Steiner and Leonard Rosenman gave to the films he was modeling The Outsiders on. The dramatic orchestral score highlights Coppola's allusions in his film to another famous epic, Gone With the Wind, the novel of which figures prominently in the film's story.

The previous version was released on Silva Screen Records in 1989. Music Box Records presents the definitive version, including new material (alternate and unreleased cues) and the very sought-after memorable title song "Stay Gold" written by Carmine Coppola and performed by the legendary singer and lyricist Stevie Wonder.

This new album presentation has been supervised by Francis Ford Coppola and assembled from the 2" 24-track session masters stored in American Zoetrope vaults. Newly mixed, edited and expanded to Coppola's original, musically lavish intentions by sound designer Richard Beggs (Francis Ford Coppola's long-time collaborator), the score of The Outsiders proves itself even more vital in making Coppola's "epic story for children" into iconic, star-making youth cinema. This would be the first, and lasting musical impression of teen angst as the stuff of grand, emotional opera, fueled by an elder statesman composer who'd lived an artistic life on the edge since his own youth.

This deluxe edition with O-Card includes a 24-page full-color booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger and Francis Ford Coppola's statement.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!