Soundtrack Information

Treasure Island

Treasure Island

Limited Edition of 500 Units

Quartet Records (QR470)

Release Date: January 7, 2022

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Titoli di testa 2:31
2. L'incubo di Jim 0:57
3. La sorpresa del cane nero La macchia nera 2:00
4. Quindici uomini coro 0:35
5. I pirati attaccano la locanda 1:58
6. La mappa 1:01
7. Sognando l'isola 0:27
8. Cannocchiale chitarra classica 0:31
9. Porto di Bristol chitarra classica 2:17
10. Una gamba claviette 2:13
11. Viaggio all'isola del tesoro 2:42
12. Il barile di mele Approdo 1:59
13. Tre applausi per il capitano La barcaccia 1:52
14. Signori a terra 2:06
15. La mano Ben Gunn scompare 1:50
16. Bandiera della tregua 0:56
17. I signori prendono in giro Silver 0:47
18. Battaglia per la palizzata Jim lascia il fortino 2:39
19. La scialuppa 0:42
20. Jim sale a bordo dell'Hispaniola 2:04
21. Israel muore 2:18
22. I pirati nel fortino Lo scheletro 1:14
23. Camminando nell'isola 2:28
24. Il tesoro 1:55
25. Pezzi da otto 0:47
26. Porto dell'Hispaniola 0:48
27. Titoli di coda 1:02
  Total Album Time: 42:39

From the Manufacturer

Quartet Records is proud to present the 50th Anniversary premiere release of Natale Massara's robust adventure score for Orson Welles' Treasure Island from 1972.

Originally planned as a follow-up to Welles' Falstaff (also available from Quartet Records), the first version of Treasure Island was cancelled when budget overruns led to choosing between the two movies. Not surprisingly, Welles chose to prioritize his Shakespearean film and complete it first. It took seven years and several rewrites and directors to complete the Robert Louis Stevenson adaptation, which starred Welles as Long John Silver. And even though he wasn't the credited director, this was still very much his film.

Making his scoring debut was Natale Massara, who composed a real swashbuckling adventure score with a few modern twists added to it—as Welles, who was very much involved in the film's postproduction, had requested. Now known primarily as the long-time associate/conductor of Pino Donaggio, Massara proves to be a great composer in his own right and this score is definitely an exciting discovery.

Produced by Claudio Fuiano with the supervision of Natale Massara, this release was mastered by Chris Malone from the original mono mixes provided by the composer. The 12-page booklet features liner notes by Gergely Hubai that discuss the film's arduous background as well as the score based on new comments from the composer himself.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!