Soundtrack Information

True Grit

True Grit

Limited Edition of 3,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1260)

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Conducted by Elmer Bernstein

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. True Grit (main title) 2:01
2. True Grit (alternate) 1:55
3. A Dastardly Deed 0:38
4. A Stiff Job / Businesslike Mattie 2:06
5. Papa's Things / Pony Mine 2:09
6. Rooster and La Boeuf Off 0:55
7. Runaway Races Away / The Chase / On Their Way 3:54
8. Big Trail 0:48
9. Where There Is Smoke 1:25
10. The Dying Moon 3:24
11. Preparation Dugout 1:48
12. Dugout Stakeout / Shots Galore 4:01
13. Ruffled Rooster 1:27
14. Mattie and Little Blackie 1:04
15. Over Bald Mountain / Rooster in the Meadow 3:56
16. The Meadow Fight / A Long Shot / The Snake Pit / The Liftout / Sad Departure / Chen Lee and the General (The Pace That Kills) 10:24
17. A Ride for Life 1:31
18. Warm Wrap Up 1:35
19. End Credits 0:57
20. BONUS TRACKS: Main Title (alternate, orchestral) 1:37
21. Go Home Girl 3:30
22. Go Home Girl 3:32
23. Go Home Girl (revised lyrics) 3:06
24. The Eyes of the Young 2:20
25. True Grit (demo) 2:07
26. True Grit 1:48
27. True Grit (record version) 2:30
28. End Credits (film version main title (instrumental)/end credits) 0:56
  Total Album Time: 67:24

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

La-La Land Records, Paramount Pictures and Capitol Records/UME are proud to present Elmer Bernstein's rousing score to the classic Academy Award winning John Wayne Western True Grit. After waiting decades for a proper release fans can finally rejoice in this definitive presentation of one of the genre's greatest films!

The previous LP/CD, while an interesting experiment, never quite delivered the "goods" for any film score enthusiast. For many, it left them wanting more. Well, now you have it! Mastered from the original 1/4" mono masters, Producers Lukas Kendall and Neil S. Bulk have put together what Western fans and film score fans alike have been clamoring for over the years! With help by audio wizard Chris Malone and mastering engineer Doug Schwartz fans can finally hear Mr. Bernstein's score in all its brilliance on cd!

In addition to the film score, we have included several songs licensed and recorded for the film including various versions of the Main Title song performed by Glen Campbell, as well as a demo of the song "The Eyes of the Young" performed by Elmer Bernstein himself (co-written by Don Black)!

Also included on this set are 3 versions of "Go Home Girl" one version performed by John Hartford and two other versions performed by Glen Campbell. Antique looking booklet design by Jim Titus adds to the authenticity of Jeff Bond's rustic, informative notes.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!