Soundtrack Information

Used Cars

Used Cars

Limited Edition of 2,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1205)

Release Date: July 31, 2012

Conducted by Patrick Williams

Format: CD

Music From

Track Listing

1. PATRICK WILLIAMS'S SCORE: Used Cars March (long) (outtake) 2:43
2. Fishing (outtake) 0:50
3. Mickey Arrives 0:35
4. Disco Stripper (David Rose, arranged by Patrick Williams) 3:02
5. Western Time 4:22
6. Test Pattern 1:39
7. The Fight 3:43
8. Flame Out 0:34
9. Move ‘Em Out / A Problem / Meeting Up 4:00
10. More Speed 2:59
11. The Final Spurt 3:40
12. Big Fly 0:28
13. USED CARS March (Short) 1:37
14. Used Cars (Instrumental) (outtake) 2:43
15. Used Cars (Vocal) (Written by Patrick Williams and Norman Gimbel, Performed by Bobby Bare) 2:30
16. ERNEST GOLD'S SCORE: The Stars And Stripes Forever (John Philip Sousa, arranged by Ernest Gold) 1:36
17. Mickey Arrives (outtake) 0:53
18. Eulogy 0:53
19. The Stars And Stripes March (John Philip Sousa, arranged by Ernest 2:33
20. Circus Source 0:34
21. Disco Intro (outtake) 0:19
22. Hail To The Chief (Adapted & arranged by Ernest Gold) 1:30
23. Western Bar Source 3:19
24. Mexican Guitar 1:39
25. Test Pattern (outtake) 1:39
26. The Fight (outtake) 4:11
27. Flame Out (outtake) 0:33
28. Hail To The Chief (Adapted & arranged by Ernest Gold) 0:36
29. Tension / Fast Strings / Snares (outtake) 1:39
30. Let's Move Out! / More Speed (outtake) 4:35
31. M104 (outtake) 3:24
32. M111 (outtake) 3:45
33. Car Counting / The Big Fly (outtake) 1:18
34. End Credits (outtake) 3:33
  Total Album Time: 73:54

From the Manufacturer

La-La Land Records presents the world premiere release of the original score to Columbia Pictures' 1980 rollicking cult comedy classic Used Cars, starring Kurt Russell, Gerrit Graham, Frank McRae and Jack Warden, produced and co-written by Bob Gale and directed and co-written by Robert Zemeckis.

Composer Patrick Williams (The Toy, Swing Shift, All of Me, Cuba, Hero at Large) fashions a spirited orchestral score with rock, western and blues flourishes, all of it anchored with an energetic main theme which also provides the foundation for the title song performed by Bobby Bare. Included as well is the mostly unused orchestral score by composer Ernest Gold (Inherit the Wind, Exodus, It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World). Parts of Gold's adaptations of "The Stars And Stripes Forever" and "Hail To The Chief" made it into the final cut of the film, but the majority of his dramatically different approach to the score is presented here for the first time anywhere. Produced by Ford A. Thaxton and mastered by James Nelson, this limited edition release of 2000 units includes exclusive, in-depth liner notes by film music writer Randall D. Larson. It's a great CD. "Trust Us!"

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!