Soundtrack Information



Limited Edition of 1,000 Units

Quartet Records (QRSCE031)

Release Date: July 5, 2011

Conducted by Ennio Morricone

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. A Terrific View 2:13
2. I Know What I Want 3:32
3. The Cab Ride 3:02
4. Dawning 3:09
5. Night in the City 3:41
6. The Tapes 1:47
7. Stand Still 2:19
8. Don't Hurt Me 0:48
9. The Taxi Dispatcher 1:23
10. Light Sweetness 0:55
11. Please Please Please 4:30
12. Emily Flees 2:15
13. A Terrific View 1:11
14. Quartet For Emily 5:23
15. River Dawn 1:00
16. Don't Touch Her 2:10
17. The Bloody Palm 3:10
18. End Titles 3:08
  Total Album Time: 45:36

From the Manufacturer

World premiere release of one of the least known scores written by Maestro Ennio Morricone for the American cinema.

Windows (1980), directed by Gordon Willis (his only film as director, since he is more famous as a cinematographer—with credits including such classics as The Godfather and some of Woody Allen's films) starred Talia Shire and Elizabeth Ashley. This psychosexual thriller, set in Manhattan, gave Morricone the opportunity to create an unsettling melodic score, beginning with a gorgeous main theme for piano, glockenspiel, strings and harpsichord entitled "A Terrific View." This theme is the axis of a score that bridges the sound created by Morricone for Italian giallo with the elegant atmosphere of such American movies as Bloodline, The Thing, Disclosure, Frantic and Bugsy.

Windows has never before been released in any format. This is perhaps because there are only about 15 minutes of original music in the film, and because Morricone's recording (made in New York's A&R Studios) has long been thought lost. Luckily, it finally appeared the original 24-track master in the MGM vaults—in mint condition—and discovered that Morricone actually wrote 46 minutes of music for the film, instead of only the 15 minutes used in the final cut.

Now Ennio Morricone's complete score has been remixed in stereo, produced and mastered by Daniel Winkler. With a 20-page full color booklet and liner notes by Daniel Schweiger, this release gives all followers of the Roman maestro the opportunity to hear one of his most obscure and surprising works from the late seventies—which finally sees the light 32 years after its recording!

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!