Varèse Sarabande will release the Orange is the New Black – Original Score digitally and on CD on May 12, 2015. The album features the original music composed by Gwendolyn Sanford, Brandon Jay, and Scott Doherty.

"With binge–watching becoming the norm, one of the best notes we got from Netflix was to try and view the season as one long movie because viewers would be watching many of the episodes back to back," said Jay. "There is an abundance of wonderfully complex and diverse characters on the show and we feel the music reflects that."

"Much like the wide array of emotions the characters go through, the music moves from hopeful to tragic, light hearted to sinister, many times within the same piece of music," said Sanford. "The scene when Piper steps out of the van and walks the long walk into prison for the first time - we scored this a few different ways before finally feeling like we found 'the sound' of the show. It was in that moment the dirty electric delay of OITNB was born."

"Mostly it's us taking turns on piano, bass, guitar and drums and adding whatever odd synths or custom samples that lend themselves to the moment," Jay described. "We've had a couple guest musicians. Michael Starr played fiddle and mandolin on Pennsatucky's theme and Steve Graeber played some sax for us. Our most out of the ordinary contributor was our dog Duncan who hangs out in the studio with us. Gwendolyn was doing some high-pitched vocals and he decided to howl along. We put it through a megaphone and it created an eeriness that really helped the scene. He's always standing by for his next cameo."

Season 3 of Orange is the New Black­ will debut on Netflix on June 12, 2015.