Soundtrack Information



Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies
Kritzerland (KR 20024-5)

Release Date: December 10, 2012

Conducted by Franz Waxman

Format: CD

Music From

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

1. Main Title
2. Out of the Past / Cold Water Flat
3. The Surprise
4. Man and Wife (includes Wagners Wedding March - Lohengrin)
5. Preparations / The First Quarrel
6. Sharon / Sharon Proposes
7. My Way of Life / Another Obstacle
8. The Smell of Success/Sad News
9. Two Up on Me
10. Detroit Theatre
11. Hysterical Proposal / Across the Threshold
12. Never So Good / No Divorce Parts 1 and 2
13. Defeated Again
14. Korea War
15. A New Start / Back From the Past
16. Discovering the Obvious/The Road to Success/Finale
17. BONUS TRACKS: (Love Is a) Career (vocal version) (Sammy Cahn/James Van Heusen)
18. Night Club Dance No. 1 (Gus Levene)
19. (Love Is a) Career (film) (Sammy Cahn/James Van Heusen)
20. The Surprise (film)
21. Never So Good / No Divorce (film)
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

From the exciting opening chords that lead directly into the big city theme, the score is absolutely thrilling. It is the kind of dramatic scoring that Franz Waxman did so brilliantly. He gets inside the drama and the characters—the yearning, the hunger, the nastiness, the competiveness, the romance, the first taste of success, the bitter taste of failure after failure—it's brilliant music from start to finish.

Waxman's score for Career is presented here complete and in stereo from the original session tapes housed in the Paramount vaults. We've included several bonus cues that appear in the film, including the source music song "(Love Is a) Career" by Sammy Cahn and James Van Heusen, and a little dance music cue composed by Gus Levene, as well as a couple of the cues from the mono music stem.

It's always thrilling to be able to bring an unreleased Franz Waxman score to CD, especially one as dynamic and beautiful as Career.

Career is limited to 1,000 copies only.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!