Soundtrack Information

Empire of the Sun - Expanded

Empire of the Sun - Expanded

Limited Edition of 4,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1300)

Release Date: June 24, 2014

Conducted by John Williams

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Empire of the Sun - Expanded
1. Suo Gan (extended version)** (The Ambrosian Junior Choir, feat. James Rainbird) 3:29
2. Home and Hearth** 3:50
3. Trip Through the Crowd 2:33
4. Imaginary Air Battle 2:38
5. Japanese Infantry* 3:00
6. Lost in the Crowd 5:44
7. Alone at Home* 2:43
8. The Empty Swimming Pool* 3:14
9. The Streets of Shanghai 5:15
10. The Plane 3:15
11. Jim's New Life 2:34
12. The Pheasant Hunt 4:28
13. The British Grenadiers (traditional) 2:29
14. Cadillac of the Skies 3:53
15. Mrs. Victor and James* 2:11
16. The Return to the City 7:50
17. Seeing the Bomb** 4:48
18. Bringing Them Back* 2:41
19. Liberation: Exsultate Justi 1:53
20. Suo Gân (The Ambrosian Junior Choir, feat. James Rainbird) 2:23
21. Exsultate Justi (extended version)** 5:14
  Disc Time: 76:05
Disc 2: Empire of the Sun - Expanded
1. Chopin: Mazurka, Op. 17 No. 4 (excerpt)* 2:14
2. Imaginary Air Battle (alternate)* 2:41
3. Alone at home (alternate)* 2:40
4. The Streets of Shanghai (film version segment)* 1:18
5. The Streets of Shanghai(alternate segment)* 2:17
6. Chopin Again* 1:19
7. The Plane (alternate)* 3:05
8. Cadillac of the Skies (alternate)* 3:51
9. The Return to the City (alternate)* 7:50
10. Exsultate Justi 5:09
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Previously Unreleased ** Contains Previously Unreleased Music

La-La Land Records, WEA and Warner Bros. proudly present the remastered and expanded, limited edition 2-CD set of John Williams' Academy Award-nominated original score to the 1987 feature film Empire of the Sun.

Heralded as one of the acclaimed composer's finest works, Mr. Williams' masterful orchestral score seeks no less than the openness of the human heart, mind and soul—the perfect compliment to this powerful and indelible film about a young English boy's emotional and physical struggle to survive the Japanese occupation of China during WWII.

This deluxe re-issue was produced, assembled and mastered by Mike Matessino in cooperation with John Williams, Steven Spielberg and the film's co-producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall. Disc 1 contains a full presentation of the film score, including never-before-released music, while Disc 2 pulls back the veil of the creative process with a selection of alternate cues and other additional music. A 28-page CD booklet features handsome art design by Jim Titus and Matessino's exclusive, in-depth essay, approved by the director and composer.

This is a limited edition release of 4000 units.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!