Soundtrack Information

The Shootist / The Sons of Katie Elder

The Shootist / The Sons of Katie Elder

Limited Edition of 2,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1254)

Release Date: April 9, 2013

Conducted by Elmer Bernstein

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. THE SHOOTIST: Main Title 4:21
2. D/Prognosis 2:10
3. Ride 2:42
4. Attack 2:04
5. Pain / Promise 2:02
6. Farewells 2:47
7. Sweeney 1:08
8. Shootout 3:24
9. Decision / Epilogue 3:58
10. THE SONS OF KATIE ELDER: Main Title 2:15
11. Texas Is a Woman (instrumental) 1:11
12. The Elders Fight 1:56
13. Dangerous Journey 2:42
14. Trouble in Town 2:01
15. Return to Town 2:06
16. The Sons of Katie Elder (vocal by Johnny Cash) 2:31
17. Rebuked 2:39
18. Memories of Clearwater 2:33
19. Sheriff Ambushed 2:58
20. Katie's Bible 2:36
21. Hastings Ranch 2:13
22. Texas Is a Woman (narration by John Wayne) 1:11
23. The Sons of Katie Elder (vocal by Ernie Sheldon) 2:35
  Total Album Time: 56:03

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

La-La Land Records and Paramount Pictures are proud to announce the CD debuts of Elmer Bernstein's classic scores to The Shootist and The Sons of Katie Elder.

For The Shootist, this CD presents the score for the first time in its original form, mastered from 1/4" stereo mixes. As for The Sons of Katie Elder, Elmer Bernstein re-recorded and arranged his music from the film for a Columbia Records soundtrack LP released along with the film.

The soundtrack album includes adaptations of film cues, sometimes combining two or more into a single track, while other selections begin with music from the film but continue as extended arrangements of specific melodies—which receive more play and development than in the actual film score.

Included in this release is the title song performed by Johnny Cash as well as the John Wayne narration. As an added bonus we have also included a version of the title song performed by Ernie Sheldon that was released as a rare single back when the film came out. Sadly, nothing of the original score has survived but luckily the fine folks at Sony Music discovered the original master tapes for the Katie LP.

Booklet has nice reversible cover design by Dan Goldwasser—The Shootist on one side and The Sons of Katie Elder on the other.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!