Soundtrack Information

Victor Young at Paramount - Vol. 2

Victor Young at Paramount - Vol. 2

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies

Kritzerland (KR 20029-0)

Release Date: December 18, 2015

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

2. Service Club Juke Box 1
3. Perseverance°
4. Red Cross Juke Box 2 “The Nearness of You” (Hoagy Carmichael and Ned Washington)
5. Red Cross Juke Box 3 “Lovable Sort of Person” (Victor Young and Frank Loesser)
6. A Friend at Sea°
7. Little Sam / Christmas Party
8. Attempted Murder
9. Casualty Montage
10. End Title°
12. Sardi's 1
13. Bea's Apartment*
14. Sardi's 3 (“Just for Today”)
15. Sardi's 4 (“Poochie”)
16. A Siamese Kitten**
17. Opening Night*
18. The Pep Talk*
19. “Stella by Starlight” (Victor Young and Ned Washington)
20. First Fox Trot (“My Ideal”) (Leo Robin, Richard A. Whiting and Newell Chase)
21. Bea Confesses*
22. Finale*
23. LITTLE BOY LOST: Prelude†
24. Dunkirk Montage
25. The Silent Radio / Lisa's Death / Another Lead–Part 1
26. Another Lead Part 2 / Following the Lead†† / The Orphanage
27. The Boy††
28. Piece of Evidence†† †††
29. Intro to “Cela m'est égal”
30. Trip to Paris††† / If It's All the Same to You (Johnny Burke and James Van Heusen) / Bridge to Paris††† / Paris Wonderland
31. Another Disappointment††† ††††
32. The Magic Window (Johnny Burke and James Van Heusen)
33. The Laundress Revisited†† / The Little Boy Lied
34. Nellie's Idea†† / Another Puppy Love††
35. Farewell Montfort†††
36. Return of Binkie / End Title†
37. MY FAVORITE SPY: Prelude
38. Lily Dalbray•
39. Intro to Comedy Camel / The Comical Camel
40. The Fire Part 2••
41. Music Jewel / Finale
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
° incorporates "To Love You" by Mack Gordon and Victor Young
* incorporates "Change of Heart" by Victor Young and Edward Heyman
** incorporates "Say What You Will" by Victor Young and Edward Heyman
† incorporates "The Magic Window" by Johnny Burke and James Van Heusen
†† incorporates "A Propos de Rien" by Johnny Burke and James Van Heusen
††† incorporates "If It's All the Same to You" by Johnny Burke and James Van Heusen
†††† incorporates "Mon Coeur Est un Violon" by Miarka Laparcerie
• incorporates "Just a Moment More" by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans
•• incorporates additional music by Leigh Harline, Gerard Carbonara and John Leipold

Paramount and Victor Young—one of the greatest studio/composer relationships in history. For this CD, we are proud to present four world premiere releases. They are a diverse gathering that beautifully illustrates how he could write for any kind of story.

First up is the 1956 Perlberg-Seaton war film, The Proud and the Profane. Young wrote a memorable and beautiful main theme for the drama, which weaves in and out of the score in many guises. It's a wonderful score and classic Young.

Next up is the 1953 film Forever Female. This time it's Victor Young in full-out sparkling mode, beginning with a lilting and lovely waltz that then morphs into some fun big-city music. The score is like a glass of champagne—bubbly, effervescent and sophisticated.

Also from 1953 we have another George Seaton film, Little Boy Lost. A superb Young score, right up there with his best. Originally there were only three surviving cues from this brilliant score, but in a last-minute bit of serendipity, almost all of it was found and so it's a real treat to be able to present just about everything from this Victor Young classic. The score has just about everything that made Young one of the greats.

Finally we have My Favorite Spy. Young's music suits the film perfectly, underscoring the comedy and intrigue with panache and a grand sense of fun.

All scores have been carefully transferred and restored by Chris Malone from the elements in the Paramount vaults. Limited to 1000 copies.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!