Announced this week were new composer assignments for Theodore Shapiro (Captain Underpants, The Polka King), Michael Giacchino (Jurassic World 2), Dominic Lewis (Rock That Body), among many others. For the full list of composer and music supervisor assignments from this week, click here.

Over 10 new soundtrack albums were released this week. Click here for the full schedule.

Opening nationwide this week are (with music by): Sing (Joby Talbot), Passengers (Thomas Newman), Assassin's Creed (Jed Kurzel) and Why Him? (Theodore Shapiro). La La Land (Justin Hurwitz) and Fences (Marcelo Zarvos) are expanding nationwide from their limited releases earlier this month.

Among all new theatrical releases, we are tracking song credits for:
- Assassin's Creed (4 songs)
- Passengers (17 songs)
- A Monster Calls (3 songs)
- Live by Night (7 songs)
- Silence (18 songs)

Finally, Soundtrack.Net and it's contributors and staff wish our readers a very merry Christmas!