Soundtrack Information

I Married a Monster from Outer Space / The Atomic City

I Married a Monster from Outer Space / The Atomic City

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies

Release Date: July 3, 2012

Conducted by Leith Stevens

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

1. I MARRIED A MONSTER FROM OUTER SPACE: Paramount Seal / Firmament Music / Prelude (Nathan Van Cleave; Victor Young) 1:41
2. Red Cross Juke Box #3 (Victor Young) 1:15
3. The First Victim / Watched (Victor Young; Roy Webb) 1:08
4. Never Before (Ray Livingston and Mack David) 3:18
5. Monster's Image / The Letter (Victor Young; Hugo Friedhofer) 0:55
6. Honeymoon Eve (Walter Scharf) 1:15
7. Transformation of Schultz / Marge Trails Bill / Marge Watches Transformation (Hans J. Salter; Roy Webb; Hugo Friedhofer; Franz Waxman: Victor Young) 3:28
8. Marge's Return (Hugo Friedhofer; Victor Young) 1:59
9. Tell Her / The Intruder (Franz Waxman; Victor Young; Hugo Friedhofer) 1:02
10. Juke Box (Paul Weston) 2:33
11. He's Dead / Marge's Misgivings / Marge's Frustrations (Aaron Copland; Victor Young) 2:03
12. Human Men (Franz Waxman; Victor Young) 2:16
13. Search for Space Ship (Leo Shuken and Sidney Cutner; Franz Waxman) 1:47
14. Fight with Monsters (Victor Young; Leith Stevens) 2:46
15. Back to Life / Captain Collins Dies (Daniel Amfitheatrof; Victor Young; Leith Stevens; Aaron Copland) 2:00
16. To Know Love/Finale (Hugo Friedhofer; Walter Scharf; Franz Waxman; Victor Young; Aaron Copland; Lyn Murray) 1:54
17. THE ATOMIC CITY: Main Title / Atomic Montage 3:28
18. Atomic Childhood 0:53
19. A Tense Situation / The Telegram 1:02
20. First Contact / Mark 3B File 1:55
21. The Trap 3:58
22. Back to Washington / Retribution 1:53
23. The Puye Ruins 2:21
24. Tommy Escapes 8:38
25. The Chase Part Two 2:10
26. The Rescue / Finale 9:03
27. BONUS TRACK: Santa Fe Fiesta (source music) 1:29
  Total Album Time: 68:10

From the Manufacturer

One of the most interesting aspects of I Married a Monster from Outer Space is its wonderful score. The film carries no credit for music at all, despite having really effective music and quite a bit of it. In certain cases, especially in the case of the very low-budget I Married a Monster from Outer Space, they would re-record selections from existing scores that were owned by the studio's publishing companies. Therefore, what we have is a score composed by Victor Young, Hugo Friedhofer, Aaron Copland, Franz Waxman, Leith Stevens, Daniel Amfitheatrof, Walter Scharf, Lyn Murray, Nathan Van Cleave, Roy Webb well, you get the idea. The surprising thing is how well it all works and how seamlessly it all plays. Today, it would be called temp tracking, but back then it was born out of necessity and budget. It's actually kind of a once-in-a-lifetime occurrence, where several of the greatest film composers of all time have music in the same film.

The music, housed in the Paramount vaults, was in mostly excellent condition. A little wow and flutter on a couple of tracks was the only problem and we've left it as is because the music is so good and the problems only last for a few seconds.

The superb music of The Atomic City was composed by Leith Stevens. Stevens made his mark in the early 1950s, beginning with two sci-fi scores that became instant classics Destination Moon and When Worlds Collide. After The Atomic City, he would go on to write great scores to some iconic films, including War of the Worlds and The Wild One. He worked in almost every genre, turning out scores for such films as the noir classic The Hitch-Hiker, Scared Stiff, Private Hell 36, World Without End, Julie, But Not for Me, The Interns, A New Kind of Love and many others, as well as for such classic television fare as The Twilight Zone, Have Gun Will Travel, Gunsmoke, The Untouchables, Burke's Law, The Time Tunnel, Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Land of the Giants, and on and on. His music for The Atomic City is greatly responsible for the tense atmosphere and keeping the film an edge-of-the-seat thriller.

The music was thankfully preserved on a set of acetates in excellent condition. These were transferred as carefully and lovingly as possible, and we hope you'll be pleased with the result.

I Married a Monster from Outer Space / The Atomic City is limited to 1000 copies only.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!