Soundtrack Information

One Eyed Jacks

One Eyed Jacks

Limited Edition of 1,200 Copies

Kritzerland (KR20016-6)

Release Date: September 7, 2010

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Album Presentation
1. Main Title 2:29
2. The Kiss of a Scoundrel / Pursued by Rurales 5:37
3. Toast to Friendship 2:16
4. Lonely Thoughts / Betrayal and Capture 4:08
5. Escape (Parts 1 & 2) 1:57
6. To Monterey / The Search 2:47
7. Seduction 3:31
8. Contrition 2:17
9. To Point of the Devil / Gentle Visitor 4:25
10. Dark Thoughts / Necklace and Idea 3:02
11. Confession / Confidence Regained 2:51
12. Finale 3:50
13. Alternate Main Title (Bonus Track)* 1:46
14. Alternate Finale (Bonus Track) 6:44
  Disc Time: 47:40
Disc 2: Complete Score
1. Main Title 2:29
2. The Getaway / The Kiss of a Scoundrel 3:56
3. Pursued by Rurales 2:54
4. Toast to Friendship 2:19
5. Escape from the Cantina 2:18
6. Lonely Thoughts / Betrayal and Capture 5:03
7. Escape (Parts 1 & 2) 1:58
8. The Search 1:38
9. To Monterey 1:16
10. Meeting After Five Years 2:02
11. Meet My Family / Trouble Among the Four 1:40
12. Luisa in Love 1:11
13. The Seduction 3:33
14. Contrition 2:17
15. The Informer 3:14
16. Dad's Suspicions Allayed 1:57
17. Dad's True Colors 1:32
18. To Point of the Devil 2:43
19. Gentle Visitor 1:50
20. Dark Thoughts / Necklace and Idea 3:05
21. Prelude to Rape 3:28
22. Luisa's Confession / Confidence Regained 3:00
23. Compulsion 3:19
24. Adios Friend / Double Cross / The Ambush 4:36
25. Confession of Love 1:34
26. Chance to Escape / A Break for Freedom 5:20
27. Finale 4:13
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Error: This track is actually from The Jayhawkers! and not by Friedhofer at all. This issue is corrected in the Encore Edition (Kritzerland, 2014).

From the moment of their inception, some films are simply destined to become legendary in one way or another and Marlon Brando's sole directorial effort had legend stamped on it from the get-go. But what gives the film a great deal of its luster and brilliance is the score by Hugo Friedhofer.

Sometimes the stars are magically aligned and a composer gets a perfect project, one that plays to all his musical strengths—Friedhofer's music elevates One-Eyed Jacks in every sense—it's passionate, beautiful, exciting, dramatic, luminous—and one of Friedhofer's greatest achievements, in a career filled with them.

One-Eyed Jacks was originally released on LP by Liberty Records. Friedhofer had all the scoring masters available to him and from these he prepared the album release (any thoughts of a 2 LP set vanished when the film did not perform at the box office). Obviously because of LP time restrictions, less than half of Friedhofer's amazing score was on the album.

On CD 1, we present that original album program, remastered from the original two-track album masters, along with two alternate cues from the full score. Note: On our original release, there was a mistake on the "Alternate Main Title," which was actually from The Jayhawkers! and not by Friedhofer at all. For this release, we were thrilled to find there actually was an alternate main title and we're happy to include it.

On CD 2 we present Friedhofer's entire score in all its magnificence, in pristine stereo sound. To hear this score complete is a revelation—and for Friedhofer fans and any fan of great film music, this 2 CD set is a must-have. This is the world premiere release of any of this music on CD. The booklet features new and great liner notes by Nick Redman.

This release is limited to 1200 copies only.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!