Soundtrack Information

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves - Remastered and Expanded

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves - Remastered and Expanded

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 458)

Release Date: September 22, 2020

Conducted by Michael Kamen

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

Disc 1: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves - Remastered and Expanded
1. Main Title Prince Of Thieves 2:46
2. The Letter/Robin's Hand/*And His Merry Men/Home 11:21
3. Robin Foils Gisborne/*Arrow 3:54
4. The Boy In The Tree 0:31
5. Gisborne Brings Bad News/Father 3:56
6. I Will Not Rest 2:35
7. Meet Marian 1:10
8. Robin Gives Marian Ring/Escape To Sherwood 6:49
9. Eyes Of The Forest/Little John (The River) 1:48
10. The Band In The Forest 1:32
11. Little John Fight Pt. 1 & Pt. 2 3:28
12. Camp Oak 1:43
13. Robin Sees The Bishop/Robin Talks To Bishop/Robin Escapes 4:41
14. Stitch 0:46
15. Village Destructo (Alternate #2)/Village Destroyed Pt. 2 2:01
16. Courage/Training Sequence Pt. 1 & Pt. 2/Troops 5:08
17. The Merry Men Continue Raids 1:06
18. Sheriff Calls Off Christmas 0:52
19. Merry Men Plot The Ambush/The Merry Men Ambush Gisborne 4:53
20. Humility/Buffoons Ambush Marian 3:46
21. Marian At The Waterfall/Camp 5:31
  Disc Time: 70:17
Disc 2: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves - Remastered and Expanded
1. Medieval Dance Source #2 0:58
2. Marian At The Waterfall/Camp Reprise/Baby 3:59
3. *Medieval Dance Source #3 (Slow Version) 1:20
4. The Plot Thickens (Maid Marian) 7:22
5. Warning Arrow 1:13
6. Celt Battle Pt. 1, Pt. 2 & *Pt. 2A 5:14
7. *Celt Battle Pt. 3 1:09
8. Robin Hood's Fall (Village Destructo Alternate #1) 1:12
9. Duncan's Death 5:18
10. *Generic Witch Ambience Pt. 1 & Pt. 2 2:37
11. *Circle Of Stones/Plans For Rescue/*Will Captured 10:26
12. Mayhem In Town 0:47
13. Rescue Marian/Robin Fights The Sheriff/Finale Pt. 1 & Pt. 2 14:16
14. Finale Pt. 3 & Pt. 4 2:29
15. *End Credits 3:37
  Disc Time: 61:57
Disc 3: Alternate Takes and Additional Music
1. Home 2:34
2. *Gisborne Brings Bad News 1:34
3. I Will Not Rest (Alternate Mix) 2:35
4. Robin Gives Marian Ring (Alternate Mix) 2:56
5. *Escape To Sherwood (Film Mix) 3:55
6. The Band In The Forest (Alternate) 1:32
7. Village Destructo (Alternate #3) 0:47
8. Training Sequence (Take 3) 2:06
9. Training Sequence (Take 4) 2:11
10. Marian At The Waterfall/Camp (Take 8) 5:22
11. Marian At The Waterfall/Camp Reprise (Alternate) 1:16
12. *Medieval Dance Source #3 (Fast Version) 1:00
13. *Medieval Dance Source #3 (Fast Version Alternate) 1:00
14. *Medieval Dance Source #3 (Slow Version Alternate) 1:21
15. *Hangman's Drums 3:20
16. Mayhem In Town (Take 5) 0:47
17. Join Robin [Alternate] 1:39
18. *Finale Pt. 4A [Bridge To Song] 1:00
19. *Morgan Creek Fanfare 0:16
  Disc Time: 37:11
Disc 4: Original Album Assemblies
1. Overture And A Prisoner Of The Crusades (From Chains To Freedom) 8:25
2. Sir Guy Of Gisborne And The Escape To Sherwood 7:23
3. Little John And The Band In The Forest 4:49
4. The Sheriff And His Witch 6:01
5. Maid Marian 2:55
6. Training Robin Hood, Prince Of Thieves 5:12
7. Marian At The Waterfall 5:30
8. The Abduction And The Final Battle At The Gallows 9:54
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

For Intrada's latest release, the label revisits its 2018 release of Michael Kamen's adventurous score for the 1991 Morgan Creek production of Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. While the 2018 release featured a wealth of new material, it was still not complete due to available elements at the time. Now with the assistance of the Michael Kamen estate, not only were more extensive music elements available, they also boasted an improved sound. Among some of the cues being presented for the first time:

"And His Merry Men" for the five-minute sequence when Robin and Azeem break out of prison and the introduction of Robin's father and the backstory of betrayal
"Arrow," which launches with the rousing French horn and trumpet fanfare as Robin suddenly fires a crossbow at Sir Gisborne and the accompanying combat
"Celt Battle" now includes the missing final part where Robin rescues Fanny and her infant from the burning tree house
"Will Captured" is added to a 10-minute battle sequence, in which Will is spotted among the gathering crowds preparing to watch the hanging
"Hangman's Drums"
"End Credits," a cue Kamen wrote for the ending of the score, which was dropped in favor of the vocal (still not available for licensing for this release)

And more!
With the score proper filling two discs, the third disc includes a wealth of alternates. Included among the alternates is the Morgan Creek logo, which uses the Robin Hood theme for the logo attached to their movies from that point on. Finally, a fourth disc contains the entire program Kamen assembled for release on the first album (sans the vocal), as it contains many unique edits and assemblies making it a program worth perserving.

Joined by horns, Robin is given a heroic theme during the opening credits, drawing in the audience to the deeds and misdeeds to come from this new vision of Robin Hood. The orchestration is traditional—featuring brass in action scenes, strings in scenes of intense emotion, and pastoral woodwinds to evoke the beauty of Sherwood Forest. It roars, it whispers. It sings, it dances. It excites, it calms. Sometimes it even frightens. With a strong heroic theme, a "stalking bass line" for needed menace, and a simple, yet delicate and romantic love theme, Kamen composed a film score worthy of the mighty thief prince.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!