The World Soundtrack Academy announced recently the winners of the World Soundtrack Awards 2012, the closing event of the 39th Ghent Film Festival. Alberto Iglesias was chosen as Film Composer of the Year 2012, for his soundtracks for Le Moine ('The Monk'), La Piel Que Habito (The Skin I Live In) and Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. He also went home with the award for Best Original Film Score of the Year for Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. Brian Byrne received the World Soundtrack Award for Best Original Song Written for Film for "Lay Your Head Down" from the film Albert Nobbs. Byrne also won the Discovery of the Year Award. The Public Choice Award went to Abel Korzeniowski for the film W.E.. Pino Donaggio received a World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to him by Mike Stoller.

The award ceremony took place in the presence of the Flemish Minister of Culture Joke Schauvliege and the Flemish Minister of Energy, Housing, Cities and Social Economy Freya Van den Bossche.

Both the ceremony and the concert were attended by world renowned composers such as James Newton Howard (The Hunger Games, The Sixth Sense) Pino Donaggio (Dressed To Kill, Blow Out), and Discovery of the Year 2011 Alex Heffes (The First Grader, The Rite). During and after the ceremony The Brussels Philharmonic performed music by various composers. The orchestra also received a 'Certificate for Outstanding Recognition.' The certificate was handed to General Director Günther Broucke by Delegate of the Board Jacques Dubrulle.


Film Composer of the Year
Alberto Iglesias (Le Moine ('The Monk'), La Piel Que Habito (The Skin I Live In) and Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy)

Best Original Film Score of the Year 2012
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by Alberto Iglesias

Best Original Song Written for Film
"Lay Your Head Down" from Albert Nobbs
Music: Brian Byrne / Lyrics: Glenn Close / Performed by: Sinead O'Connor

Discovery of the Year
Brian Byrne for Albert Nobbs

Public Choice Award
Abel Korzeniowski for W.E.

Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer
Valentin Hadjadj

Lifetime Achievement Award
Pino Donaggio

Certificate of Outstanding Recognition
Brussels Philharmonic


The Grand Prize for Best Film
Tabu by Miguel Gomes - Portugal - Germany - Brazil - France 2012 - Distributor: Numéro Zéro

The Georges Delerue Prize for Best Music & Sound Design
Apres Mai by Olivier Assayas - France 2012 - Distributor: A-Film Belgium

Special Mention
Kid by Fien Troch - Belgium 2012 - Distributor: Cinéart

EFA 2013 Prize for Best European Short
As Ondas by Miguel Fonseca - Portugal 2012

National Lottery Prize for Best Belgian Student Short
De Naam Van De Vader by Timothy Josha Wennekes - Belgium 2012 (St-Lukas)

Honorable Mention
Corps Perdu by Lukas Dhont - Belgium 2012 (KASK)


Joseph Plateau Honorary Award
Paolo & Vittorio Taviani

Joseph Plateau Honorary Award
Emmanuelle Riva