Soundtrack Information

Close Encounters of the Third Kind - 40th Anniversary Remastered Edition

Close Encounters of the Third Kind - 40th Anniversary Remastered Edition

Limited Edition of 5,000 Units
La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1433)

Release Date: November 28, 2017

Conducted by John Williams

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (1 user)

Purchasing Links

Track Listing

1. Main Title and The Vision 1:29
2. Navy Planes 2:15
3. Lost Squadron 2:34
4. Trucking 2:09
5. Into the Tunnel and Chasing UFOs 3:56
6. Crescendo Summit 1:25
7. False Alarm and The Helicopter 4:20
8. Barry's Kidnapping 6:22
9. Forming the Mountain 1:58
10. TV Reveals / Across Country 2:53
11. The Mountain 3:36
12. The Cover-up and Base Camp 3:56
13. The Escape 2:20
14. Climbing the Mountain 2:36
15. Outstretched Hands 2:50
16. The Light Show 3:47
17. Barnstorming 4:31
18. The Mothership 4:35
19. The Dialogue 4:28
20. The Returnees 3:58
21. The Appearance of the Visitors + 4:56
22. Contact 3:22
23. End Titles + 4:27
  Disc Time: 78:43

1. Main Title 1:18
2. Roy's First Encounter 2:44
3. Encounter at Crescendo Summit 1:25
4. Chasing UFOs 1:22
5. Watching the Skies 1:20
6. Vision Takes Shape 0:42
7. Another Vision 0:42
8. False Alarm 1:45
9. The Abduction of Barry 4:36
10. The Cover-up 2:31
11. TV Reveals 1:52
12. Roy and Jillian on the Road 1:20
13. I Can't Believe It's Real 3:25
14. Across the Fields 1:20
15. Stars and Trucks 0:49
16. Who Are You People? 1:38
17. The Escape (Alternate) 2:41
18. Climbing Devils Tower 2:11
19. Dark Side of the Moon 1:34
20. The Approach 4:32
21. Night Siege 6:27
22. The Conversation 2:23
23. Inside + 2:34
24. Contact (Alternate) 2:51
25. Eleventh Commandment 2:00
26. TV Western 1:06
27. Lava Flow 1:47
28. The Five Tones 2:25
29. Advance Scout Greeting 2:58
30. The Dialogue (Early Version) 3:12
31. Resolution and End Title 6:55
  Disc Time: 74:25
  Total Album Time: 153:08

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
Previously unreleased
Contains previously unreleased material
+ Contains "When You Wish Upon a Star"
(interpolated), written by Ned Washington and
Leigh Harline, published by Bourne Co. (ASCAP).
Used with permission. All Rights Reserved.

La-La Land Records, Sony Music and Columbia Pictures present Close Encounters of the Third Kind: 40th Anniversary Remastered Limited Edition, a special 2-CD set featuring a newly restored and remastered presentation of Academy Award-Winning composer John Williams' original motion picture score to the 1977 landmark feature film Close Encounters of the Third Kind, directed by Steven Spielberg and starring Richard Dreyfuss and Teri Garr. Maestro Williams' score personifies this classic film's boundless wonder searching through, and communicating with, the deep expanses of space as it also explores the unknowable mysteries of the human soul.

This deluxe 2-CD edition, meticulously produced, mixed and mastered by Mike Matessino, in consultation with the composer and director, was inspired by the discovery that Williams had originally planned the soundtrack as a 75-minute double LP. Disc One of this presentation takes its lead from that initial intent, expanding and organizing the score as a grand symphony contained on a single disc. Disc Two offers an equally fresh experience of the score, comprised of discrete versions of cues, alternates and selections not heard on Disc One, plus many of the 1977 album tracks, as well as previously unreleased source music recorded for the film. Matessino's exclusive liner notes explore this iconic, majestic score, while Jim Titus' art design handsomely recalls all those joyous feelings generated by one of the greatest science fiction film experiences of all time.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!