Soundtrack Information

Conan the Barbarian - Expanded

Conan the Barbarian - Expanded

Intrada (MAF 7123)

Release Date: November 26, 2012

Conducted by Basil Poledouris

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (1 user)

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

Disc 1: Complete Score
1. Prologue / Anvil Of Crom 3:39
2. Riddle Of Steel / Riders Of Doom 5:40
3. Gift Of Fury 3:51
4. Column Of Sadness / Wheel Of Pain 4:10
5. Pit Fights 2:40
6. The Discipline Of Steel / Freedom Council 1:38
7. Atlantean Sword 4:01
8. Warm Welcome 2:06
9. Wolf Witch 3:10
10. Theology / Civilization 3:14
11. Street Of Deviants 0:29
12. Hopefuls At The Tower Of Set 2:22
13. The Tower Of Set 5:38
14. The Snake / Infidels 2:01
15. The Tavern 1:14
16. Wifeing (Theme Of Love From "Conan The Barbarian") 2:11
17. Indulgence / Mettle 1:15
18. The Hall Of King Osric 1:18
19. The Leaving / The Search 5:58
  Disc Time: 56:35

Disc 2: Complete Score (cont.) / The Extras / Original 1982 Album / One Last Extra
1. COMPLETE SCORE (CONT.): The Mountain Of Power Procession 3:22
2. Capture 0:52
3. Tree Of Woe / Recovery 5:46
4. Warpaint 1:10
5. The Kitchen / The Orgy 6:30
6. The Defilers 5:16
7. Funeral Pyre 4:32
8. Battle Of The Mounds Part I 4:52
9. Battle Of The Mounds Part II 2:16
10. Battle Of The Mounds Part III (Revised)/Night Of Doom 5:36
11. Head Chop 0:57
12. Orphans Of Doom / The Awakening 5:33
13. Conan The King / End Title 5:28
14. THE EXTRAS: Prologue (First Version) 0:46
15. Anvil Of Crom (First Version) 2:31
16. The Tower Of Set Part 1 (First Version) 3:46
17. Battle Of The Mounds Part II (First Version) 2:16
18. Battle Of The Mounds Part III (First Version) 3:03
19. Orphans Of Doom (Orchestra and Solo Voice) 1:22
20. Orphans Of Doom (Chorus and Harp)/The Awakening (First Version) 6:45
21. "Las Cantigas De Santa Maria" (The Snake) 6:01
  Disc Time: 78:40

Disc 3: Original 1982 Album / One Last Extra
1. ORIGINAL 1982 ALBUM: Anvil Of Crom 2:35
2. Riddle Of Steel / Riders Of Doom 5:38
3. Gift Of Fury 3:51
4. Wheel Of Pain 4:10
5. Atlantean Sword 3:51
6. Theology / Civilization 3:14
7. Wifeing (Theme Of Love From "Conan The Barbarian") 2:11
8. The Search 3:09
9. The Orgy 4:16
10. Funeral Pyre 4:30
11. Battle Of The Mounds 4:54
12. Orphans Of Doom/The Awakening 5:32
13. ONE LAST EXTRA: Prologue (W/Narration) / Anvil Of Crom 3:39
  Disc Time: 51:30
  Total Album Time: 186:45

From the Manufacturer

Basil Poledouris' score to the 1982 Universal film Conan the Barbarian remains the most impressive amongst his body of work. Poledouris delivered an impressive schematic of driving rhythm, charged strings and muscular brass that propelled the movie forward like the hammer of the gods.

For almost the first thirty minutes the music appears continuous, the various themes and motifs ebbing and flowing, dovetailing seamlessly. Playing for long stretches against dialogue-free visuals, the score completely creates the sound of Cimmeria—a credible world for Conan to inhabit, the music representing his inner turmoil, confusion, and rage.

For this new, definitive release of Conan The Barbarian, Intrada's 3-CD set is a box of delights even for those who know this fabulous music inside and out. Recorded in Italy by two separate orchestras and remixed from the original 24-track multi-track masters, it is now presented in a way that would make even Basil proud; it shines with a new clarity, a resonance and breadth of scope that makes the whole experience feel fresh and vibrant.

The original soundtrack album and its subsequent reissues from 1/4" masters always had a "pinched" quality to them. And this definitive Intrada set contains a host of alternates and unheard treasures. Just in time for the 30th anniversary of the film's release, this new collection of everything Basil recorded for the film is an emotional high—pure joy for collectors and cultists everywhere.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!