Soundtrack Information

Star Trek: The Motion Picture (3-CD Set)

Star Trek: The Motion Picture (3-CD Set)

Limited Edition of 10,000 Copies

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1207)

Release Date: June 5, 2012

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Star Trek: The Film Score
1. The Film Score: Overture 1:43
2. Main Title/Klingon Battle 7:01
3. Total Logic 3:54
4. Floating Office 1:08
5. The Enterprise 6:02
6. Malfunction 1:30
7. Goodbye Klingon/Goodbye Epsilon Nine/Pre-Launch 2:10
8. Leaving Drydock 3:32
9. TV Theme/Warp Point Eight 0:50
10. No Goodbyes 0:53
11. Spock's Arrival 2:03
12. TV Theme/Warp Point Nine 1:49
13. Meet V'Ger 3:06
14. The Cloud 5:05
15. V'Ger Flyover 5:01
16. The Force Field 5:07
17. Micro Exam 1:13
18. Games/Spock Walk 9:51
19. System Inoperative 2:03
20. Hidden Information 3:58
21. Inner Workings 4:04
  Disc Time: 72:03
Disc 2: Star Trek: The Film Score (cont.) / The Unused Early Score / The 1979 Album
1. The Film Score: V'Ger Speaks 4:04
2. The Meld/A Good Start 5:37
3. End Title 3:16
4. The Unused Early Score: The Enterprise (early version) 6:05
5. Leaving Drydock (early version) 2:39
6. No Goodbyes (early version) 0:55
7. Spock's Arrival (early version) 2:00
8. Micro Exam (early version) 1:15
9. Games (early version) 3:49
10. Inner Workings (early version) 4:43
11. The 1979 Album: Main Title/Klingon Battle 6:50
12. Leaving Drydock 3:29
13. The Cloud 5:00
14. The Enterprise 5:59
15. Ilia's Theme 3:00
16. Vejur Flyover 4:56
17. The Meld 3:15
18. Spock Walk 4:17
19. End Title 3:16
  Disc Time: 74:25
Disc 3: Star Trek: Alternates / Additional Music
1. Alternates: Overture (long version) 2:50
2. Main Title (alternate take) 1:44
3. Total Logic (alternate take) 3:49
4. Malfunction (early take) 1:28
5. Goodbye Klingon (alternate take) 0:35
6. No Goodbyes (alternate take) 0:53
7. Spock's Arrival (alternate take) 2:01
8. The Force Field (alternate take) 5:04
9. Micro Exam (alternate take) 1:14
10. Games (early synthesizer version) 3:48
11. Games (alternate take) 3:48
12. Inner Workings (alternate take) 4:05
13. V'Ger Speaks (alternate take) 4:03
14. The Meld (film version) 3:16
15. A Good Start (discrete) 2:27
16. Main Title (album take) 1:44
17. Additional Music: Main Title (first raw takes) 7:21
18. The Force Field/The Cloud (excerpts) 2:33
19. Beams and Synthesizer for V'Ger 4:04
20. Beams and Synthesizer for Ilia 0:59
21. Synthesizer for Main Theme 1:44
22. Main Theme From Star Trek: The Motion Picture (disco version - Bob James) 5:24
23. A Star Beyond Time (vocal version of Ilia's Theme - Shaun Cassidy) 2:43
24. Ilia's Theme (alternate) 3:33
25. Theme From Star Trek: The Motion Picture (concert edit) 3:25
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

La-La Land Records, Sony Music and Paramount Pictures boldly go where no soundtrack reissue has gone before with this deluxe 3-CD set of 1979's Star Trek: The Motion Picture, composed and conducted by Jerry Goldsmith.

The first big screen voyage of Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock was a high budget and ambitious undertaking that introduced Goldsmith's famous and enduring Star Trek march (later used as the main theme for Star Trek: The Next Generation) as the cornerstone of an epic science fiction musical odyssey. Like the film's refit starship Enterprise, La-La Land's lavish presentation presents the score anew: fully restored, remixed and mastered from the first generation multi-track masters by Bruce Botnick, the original album co-producer and Goldsmith's long time scoring engineer.

"To put together the complete score the decision was to go back to the original Analogue 16-track 2-inch 30 i.p.s. masters," Botnick explains. "John Davis at Precision Audiosonics baked each of the 37 rolls in a convection oven at 110 for eight hours so that they were playable, then rolled out a marvelous 3M 56 IsoLoop 16-track machine with brand new heads. The tapes were resolved at 60Hz to maintain the original orchestral pitch and sync. The Analogue-to-Digital transfer was done from the 16-track through the latest Black Lion A/D convertors and recorded to Pro Tools X at 192kHz 24-bit."

This 3-CD set presents the score for the 1979 theatrical release (filling disc 1 and part of disc 2) and also premieres the legendary early "rejected" cues that Goldsmith recorded prior to composing his famous main theme. The 1979 album program (much of which is performed and edited differently as compared to the film) completes disc 2, with disc 3 offering additional alternates (including those heard on the previous Sony expanded release) along with a wealth of bonus material. Among the highlights are a collection of early takes of the "Main Title" (including extensive stage chatter), isolated segments featuring Craig Huxley's famous "blaster beam" and assorted synthesizer excerpts, the domestic CD debut of Bob James' disco cover version of Goldsmith's theme and Shaun Cassidy's vocal version of the love theme, "A Star Beyond Time."

Reissue co-producer Mike Matessino (who handled restoration and editorial efforts) collaborates with Jeff Bond on the thoroughly researched album notes which feature interview excerpts by Goldsmith, Botnick and performers Huxley and David Newman. The clamshell packaging and 40-page full color booklet are designed by Jim Titus.

"It has been an honor to be able to work with the original recordings of this music and to document its production," Matessino says. "This is one of the greatest scores of all time and everyone involved took the responsibility very seriously and happily devoted months to see it come together. The clarity and quality we now have is truly amazing. Thanks to the efforts of La-La Land Records, Sony Music and Paramount Pictures, the end product is an embarrassment of riches and a 'must-have' for every film music and Star Trek collection."

Album Reissue Produced by Mike Matessino and Bruce Botnick
Album Reissue Producer for Sony Music Ent.: Didier C. Deutsch
Liner Notes by Jeff Bond and Mike Matessino
CD Art Direction by Jim Titus

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!