Soundtrack Information

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - Remastered and Expanded

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - Remastered and Expanded

Limited Edition of 10,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD1579)

Release Date: February 22, 2022

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Performed by
The Hollywood Studio Symphony

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: Star Trek: The Motion Picture - Remastered and Expanded
1. THE FILM SCORE: Overture 2:49
2. Main Title And Klingon Battle 7:02
3. Total Logic 3:54
4. Floating Office 1:07
5. The Enterprise 6:01
6. Malfunction 1:31
7. The Crew Briefing 2:12
8. Leaving Drydock (Film Version) 3:33
9. Captain's Log Warp One 0:49
10. No Goodbyes 0:54
11. Spock's Arrival 2:04
12. Captain's Log Warp Seven 1:49
13. Meet V'Ger 3:04
14. The Cloud (Film Version) 5:05
15. V'Ger Flyover 5:03
16. The Force Field 5:06
17. Micro Exam 1:15
18. Games 5:35
19. Spock Walk (Film Version) 4:23
20. System Inoperative 2:03
21. Hidden Information 3:58
22. Inner Workings 4:04
23. V'Ger Speaks 4:05
  Disc Time: 77:26
Disc 2: Star Trek: The Motion Picture - Remastered and Expanded
1. The Meld And A Good Start 5:38
2. End Credits 3:15
3. ADDITIONAL MUSIC: Overture (Short Version) 1:42
4. The Enterprise (Alternate) 6:07
5. Leaving Drydock (Alternate) 2:40
6. No Goodbyes (Alternate) 0:57
7. Spock's Arrival (Alternate) 2:03
8. Micro Exam (Alternate) 1:18
9. Games (Alternate Excerpt) 3:51
10. Inner Workings (Alternate) 4:38
11. The Meld (Alternate) 3:18
12. A Good Start 2:29
13. ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK ALBUM: Main Title / Klingon Battle 6:54
14. Leaving Drydock 3:33
15. The Cloud 4:59
16. The Enterprise 6:02
17. Ilia's Theme 3:04
18. Vejur Flyover 4:59
19. The Meld 3:18
20. Spock Walk 4:21
21. End Title 3:20
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Jerry Goldsmith's iconic original score to Paramount Pictures' 1979 feature film Star Trek: The Motion Picture boldly returns with a limited edition 2-CD re-issue from La-La Land Records and Paramount Music.

The first big screen voyage of Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock was a high budget and ambitious undertaking that introduced Goldsmith's famous and enduring Star Trek march (later used as the main theme for Star Trek: The Next Generation) as the cornerstone of an epic science fiction musical odyssey. Like the film's refit starship Enterprise, La-La Land's lavish 2012 restoration presented the score anew: fully restored, remixed and mastered from the first generation multi-track masters by Bruce Botnick, the original album co-producer and Goldsmith's long time scoring engineer.

This new 2-CD edition is the official tie-in soundtrack to the forthcoming Star Trek: The Motion Picture: The Director's Edition, premiering this year on the Paramount Plus streaming service. Post-Production Supervisor/Associate Producer Mike Matessino co-produces the album with Botnick, handling restoration, editing and assembly of the music.

This edition definitively presents the full film score on CD1, continuing through the start of CD2. The program now begins with the long version of the "Overture," reflective of "The Director's Edition," with the short version heard in 1979 now kicking off a section of "Alternates" on CD2, which feature early versions of major score cues that were later reworked. Closing out the presentation is the enduring 1979 soundtrack album program, now re-created from the remixed first generation master material for consistent and superior sound quality throughout the set.

Matessino collaborates with Jeff Bond on the thoroughly researched album notes, which feature interview excerpts by Goldsmith, Botnick and performers Craig Huxley and David Newman. The packaging and 28-page full color booklet are designed by Jim Titus and feature new images from "The Director's Edition."

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!